Development team

    Roger Stupp

    MD President, EORTC

    Roger Stupp, M.D., lead of the multidisciplinary brain tumor clinic at the Department of Neurosurgery of University of Lausanne Medical Center (CHUV), Switzerland was recently appointed Director of the Zurich Cancer Center and designated Director of the Department of Medical Oncology at the Zurich University Hospital, Switzerland. The dedicated clinical interests of Dr. Stupp include the multimodal management of brain tumors, head and neck and lung cancers, new drug development and the association of chemotherapy and radiation therapy. Dr. Stupp serves as President of EORTC and past Secretary of the EORTC Brain Tumor Group. Dr. Stupp is an editor for the European Journal of Cancer and is a member of several editorial boards including Journal of Clinical Oncology, and Neuro-Oncology.

        Denis Lacombe

        EORTC Director General

        Denis Lacombe graduated with his MD from the University of Marseilles (France) in 1988 and obtained a Master Post Doctoral Fellowship at The Roswell Park Cancer Institute (Buffalo, NY USA) for research in pharmacology and pharmacokinetics from 1989 to 1991. From 1991 to 1993, he worked as a Clinical Research Advisor in charge of the development of a new drug in oncology in the pharmaceutical industry.

        Dr Lacombe joined the EORTC in 1993 as a research fellow and quickly became a very active and productive Clinical Research Physician involved in the conduct of clinical research from protocol development through publication for a number of oncology indications from phase I to phase III. Dr Lacombe contributed to the strategic evolution of the EORTC pan-European clinical and translational research infrastructure by setting up various supportive assets such as regulatory and pharmacovigilance expertise as well as partnership models with the pharmaceutical industry. Dr Lacombe rose to the position of Director EORTC Headquarters in 2010, and in April 2015 was appointed EORTC Director General. In his current position, Denis Lacombe is now involved in the coordination and administration of all EORTC activities in order to promote the EORTC as a major European organization in Cancer Clinical and Translational Research and is responsible for the organization of scientific activities, public relations and medium term strategies as defined by the EORTC Board as well as for internal and external communications.

        Dr Lacombe is the author of well over 100 peer reviewed publications and communications that have had a positive impact on the future of cancer therapy.

            Francoise Meunier

            EORTC Director Special Projects

            Françoise Meunier received her medical degree from the Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB) (magna cum laude) and completed a research fellowship at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center (New York, 1977-1978, Fulbright award). She holds a Master’s Degree in Medical Oncology (1976) and Internal Medicine (1979), and a PhD (1985) at the ULB. She is certified as Pharmaceutical Medicine specialist (Faculty of Pharmaceutical Medicine, GB) as well as in Belgium and she is a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians (GB).

            Françoise Meunier served as EORTC Director General from 1991 through 2015 and oversaw the growth of the EORTC into an international world class cancer clinical research infrastructure. She has been been especially successful in developing the future generations of clinical oncologists, and the EORTC Fellowship Program is a testimony to this. Upon stepping down as Director General in 2015, Françoise remains active as EORTC Director Special Projects where she is a driving force behind activities such as EORTC cancer survivorship initiatives. She also lends her valuable experience to fundraising projects and sits on the board of the EORTC Cancer Research Fund.

            Prior to joining the EORTC in 1991, Françoise Meunier was Head of Infectious Diseases Department at Institute Jules Bordet in Brussels, Belgium and her personal area of research included the management of infections in patients with Cancer and mainly Invasive Fungal Infections. She has over 150 peer-reviewed published articles.

            Françoise Meunier was awarded the Belgian Laureate “Prix Femmes d’Europe 2004-2005”.

            She is a member of the Belgian Royal Academy of Medicine since 2006. In 2007, she was conferred the title of Baroness by His Majesty, The King Albert II of Belgium.

            She received in 2009, the Pezcoller Foundation award as a recognition for her contribution to oncology.

            Since 2011, she is a Fellow of the European Academy of Cancer Sciences.

            In 2012, she became a member of the IMI (Innovative Medicine Initiative) Scientific Committee of the European Union.

            In September 2013, she received the ECCO Life time achievement award.

            In October 2013, she was awarded a Ben de Pauw Medal for her dedication to Medical Mycology, her contribution and support to the EORTC Infectious Diseases Group for years.

            In 2014, she was appointed council member of the FEAM (Federation of European Academies of Medicine).

            In 2015, she was appointed Chairman of Accreditation Council of Oncology in Europe (ACOE) and Member of Alliance for Biomedical Research in Europe.